The Next Big Thing

The Next Big Thing

I have been tagged in The Next Big Thing by Jack Wallen. You know, the Zombie King? Writer of both humor (read his Tweets) and horror (read his books!) In this game of “Tag, You’re it” my current Work in Progress gets to be tagged and then I have to tag 5 other writers’ WIPs. Look for the five writers I have tagged at the bottom of this post – their “Next Big Thing” posts, should they choose to accept this mission, will be posted between the 24th and the 30th of September.

1. What is the working title of your book?

Requiem: Book of the Fallen

  2. Where did the idea come from for the book?

It all ties into that quote by Toni Morrison: “If there’s a book that you want to read, but it hasn’t been written yet, then you must write it.”

When I started writing Requiem, the market was flooded with vampires. (Especially those of the sparkling variety.) I love the idea of immortal creatures, but wanted to do something totally different. Angels and demons have always been a fascination of mine, and the bookstores hadn’t yet been inundated with either. And if they had, they were strictly those of the bare-chested beefcake sort that you find in the Romance sections, or the books fell under YA.

I had a different take, a different vision for these creatures in mind. You seldom see them portrayed as anything really sinister or destructive. I wanted to highlight the good and the bad, but in a way that had never been done before. Requiem is not a romance. It’s about the progressive march toward the end of the world. It’s a dark, seething tale about the eternal battle between good and evil and the part us humans play.

  3. What genre does your book fall under?

It’s a mash up of dark urban fantasy, horror, and post-apocalyptic reading. For adults!

  4. Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

Oh, Jeez. I really fought doing this part, and it took me forever to scour the web for anyone even remotely close, but here you go:  The main character, Seir: Alexander Skarsgård.

I just haven’t seen anyone else that jumps out at me and says “I am Seir” like he has. He’s got this savage intensity and the ability to look at someone as if he is not only capable, but very much wanting to devour their soul. Plus he’s great at delivering cruel lines and sarcasm and that is a must have trait for this Fallen.

Ava: Sophia Bush.

Ava has that girl-next-door quality and a quiet vulnerability, but she’s also full of strength and fire.

Gabriel: Chris Hemsworth

This character is full of compassion, confidence, authority, and inner fortitude. But when he gets mad…watch out. Hemsworth has the perfect accent and voice for this noble Arch.

Zeruch: Kellan Lutz or Taylor Kinney.

Zeruch is the angel of strength. He’s not afraid of confrontation. (In fact, he seems to enjoy it where Seir is concerned.) I picture a physically strong fighter. And though he’s beautiful, he’s not as mature or experienced as Gabriel. There are big plans for this character in the sequel.

Samael: JulianMcMahon

would be excellent. Something about him always makes me nervous.

Valdric:  Logan Lerman.

Don’t let those youthful and innocent looks fool you. This ancient being has bent the ears of Kings with a mere whisper and danced through the streets of a fallen Rome as she burned.

Naamah: Christina Hendricks.

She’s curvy, redheaded, and drips sex appeal. Who better to play this conniving succubus?

5. What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

Mankind has failed; the battle for our soul has begun.

6. Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

Requiem will be released in October through a small press.

7. How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

8 months total write time—but I took a 10 month hiatus in the middle of scribbling to move and complete other projects. Plus there was time off for research. Lots and lots of research went into this book. Then endless bouts of polishing, editing, and revising followed!

8. What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

I haven’t really come across anything similar yet. Then again, I’ve been avoiding reading anything along these lines while writing it. Requiem is…dark. There’s no getting around that. There’s some pretty horrifying stuff in it, too. If there is anything along a similar vein in fiction, I would love to read it!

9. Who or What inspired you to write this book?

To say my muse sounds so cliché, but it’s true. I’ve always been fascinated with the concept of angels, both good and fallen, and the “Walkers” said to roam among us. As for my inspiration, I definitely have a devil whispering in one ear and an angel in the other. The book originally started out from Zeruch’s POV. I woke up one day, and Seir just took over. He demanded his voice be heard and he’s been here to stay ever since. Ohh, lucky me! *laughs*

I don’t know that anything other than my warped mind and characters prompted me to write this. But during the creative process, I listened to a lot of dark instrumentals from independent artists like Adrian Von Zeigler and Brunuhville. Listening to them helped me envision scenes, set the tone, and keep moving. I also burned lots of Vampire Blood. Lots and lots of Vampire Blood.

10. What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

Despite the angels and demons, it really doesn’t tap into religion. It’s not specific to any one faith or belief, and I did this on purpose. I wanted Req to be a book that everyone could read and hopefully enjoy.

  • With the exception of Valdric and Ava, all of the other characters are based on specific entities and listed traits. In fact, Seir or Seere, is the only demon or Fallen stated to have a ‘good nature’ with an indifferent attitude toward evil. Ahh, you see potential conflict already, don’t you darlings?
  • While there is plenty to be scared of (the least of which is being attacked by unseen forces) Req has a few redeeming qualities as well. There’s an underlying theme of friendship and the power it gives to keep pushing through. It might even have a romantic moment or two.
  • I’ve been told Seir is quite humorous. He’s a bit sarcastic and not too fond of our species.
  • This may be a drawback for some, but this will be the first in at least a three part book series. These are characters you can sit back and grow attached to in either your fondness or your loathing. (If something doesn’t kill them off first, that is.)
  • Requiem is something different. It definitely has its own flavor and a unique cast. Spoiler: unlike every other movie with angels out there IE: Legion and the Prophecy series, Gabriel is not a bad guy! (I love my Gabe *smiles*)

Now for the tags! Get ready, MaraMcBain, Thomas James Brown, Hunter Shea, J. Marie Ravenshaw, and James Garcia, Jr! You’re next!

14 comments on “The Next Big Thing

  1. maramcbain says:

    I truly believe that Requiem will be the “Next Big Thing.” Blessed to have read this fabulous tale start to finish I can’t recommend it enough! Requiem: Book of the Fallen has a little be for lovers of all genres. There is horror, angst, love. drama, and even humor. If you don’t laugh at some of Seir’s dry quips you’re just dead inside. LOL I wish you the best of luck, Adri love! ❤

    *Grumbles* And thanks for the tag. You might have to wait until first of Oct though … my WIP has a deadline!

    • Adriana Noir says:

      Ahh, well, I appreciate your vote of confidence, Mara. I am just excited to finally have it done and so close to being out there! *grins*
      Seir is definitely one of those characters people will either love or hate. Perhaps love to hate? *laughs*
      And you are WELCOME for the tag. It’s all done out of love, you know. Promote, Promote, Promote! *kick*

  2. Fantastic, Adriana, your passion for the story really comes across! Looking forward to picking up a copy when it’s released.

  3. Joseph Pinto says:

    Wooohooooo go Adri! Extremely happy & proud of your accomplishment!

  4. […] have been aching to talk a little about my current writing project, and courtesy of the lovely Adriana Noir, I now have the ideal opportunity! The game is called ‘The Next Big Thing’ and presents […]

  5. elizjohn2000 says:

    Can I just say I can’t wait to read it??????

    That’s all. 🙂

  6. douginator says:

    Long time, no hear… LOL!

    • Adriana Noir says:

      I know, I know. *hangs head in shame* I have been super busy with getting this book out and helping to put together an anthology for a writing site I belong to. I promise to be more erm…visible? in the future. *grins* I hope all is well with you, sir!

  7. Jason Darrick says:

    Cannot wait to grab my copy.

Leave Comments for Cookies

