Times are a’changing…

Life has been a series of changes lately, as it so often is. I haven’t posted a blog in quite some time because I’ve been busy dealing with a million other things that keep popping up. The past few months have been wonderful in some ways and hectic in others. I’ve been helping my parents remodel and renovate their duplex, which the former tenants completely destroyed. The good news is, it looks even better than it did before—and I’ve got to spend quite a bit of quality time with my family, which I always enjoy. You can’t put two people together with a sense of humor as sick and twisted as me and my mom’s and not get tons of laughter. Or hijinks. 😉

We’re almost done over there. Maybe another hour or two at most…which is always a bittersweet sort of feeling.

While I’ve grown closer to some people as of late, others feel like they’ve grown distant and slipped away. I guess you will have that. Sometimes life can’t always be as balanced as we would like it to be.

Other changes, big changes, lurk right around the corner. I’m excited about turning the page and starting this new chapter in my life. Spring’s brought a true sense of renewal for me this year. I’m starting over in so many ways. Yet forging ahead with the steam rolling and horns blaring. It’s such a triumphant feeling to surge through all the muck and mire—knowing you are coming out of it even stronger and better than before!

I have a few projects that are ready to publish. As exciting as this is, it also elicits a sharp stab of fear.  I’m so deathly afraid of being boxed into one genre for the rest of my life. As much as I love the darkness and terror of horror, there are other aspects, other genres that I LOVE to dabble in. I think Requiem reflects a lot of that…it’s a true mix of so many different genres and things that I falter trying to label the damned thing!

So there you have it: the most recent hodgepodge of rambling from my insane mind. I hope life has been treating you kind and that summer brings you all that you’ve been wishing for.

~Best wishes and happy haunting my friends!~

Adriana

13 comments on “Times are a’changing…

  1. edwardlorn says:

    I need someone I can help promote again! Get those works polished up and published!

  2. maramcbain says:

    It’s great to hear that the renovations are nearly finished. I’m sure getting the place rented out again will be a weight of your parent’s shoulders. The multiple works ready to publish are even more exciting! You’re a Gemini … boxing you into one genre is as impossible as caging you in life. I look forward to watching you spread your wings and share your gift with the world. You know i’m a huge fan. *grins* As to those that have grown distant, maybe they’re just giving you the time and space you need and will be there waiting when you’re ready. ❤ Best of luck and lots of love!

  3. douginator says:

    Kewl Beans!!!!

  4. Hunter Shea says:

    Change is good and don’t worry about being boxed in. All you need to do is come up with a pen name for any genre you want to write in. 🙂

  5. Kelli Norris says:

    Aren’t families (especially mothers) great? I am glad you cherish the time spent with yours. I look forward to your future publications mostly so I can say, ‘I knew her when.’ As for being boxed into one genre, I feel the same as Hunter. That’s what pen names are for. 😉

  6. It’s good to change genres now and then, it keeps the style fresh and enlivens the imagination. I tend toward horror but also like sci-fi and surrealism (literary?) from time to time. Academic writing and journalism can give the needed jolt, as well.

  7. lexacain says:

    I just signed up to Follow you by email — I can’t think why I didn’t realize you had a blog sooner. I just started a new blog. Feel free to stop by. http://lexacain.blogspot.com/
    (aka LJPC of WDC)

Leave Comments for Cookies

